jump to navigation

How to Cook the Perfect Rice 2007/01/22

Posted by Mummy Ruth in Cooking, Tips and Tricks.
trackback

I thought I would do a quick post about cooking rice.

I seemed to have difficulty in cooking rice, it was always clumpy and stodgy, stuck to the pot and never seemed to turn out the way I wanted — soft and fluffy and edible — (even though I followed the instructions on the packet). I have picked up some hints and tips from friends and family and it seems to work…

Cooking Time: 10 mins,
(or until rice has absorbed the water)
Serves: 2

Equipment:

  • medium pot with lid;
  • sieve;
  • 1 cup;
  • spoon;
  • fork;

Shopping List:

  • 1 cup rice (roughly 180g);
  • 2 cups cold water(roughly 400ml);
  • salt;

This makes enough rice for 2 people just double the quantities for 4 people and so on.

How To Make the Best Rice:

First of all, rinse the rice under a cold tap until the water runs clear, I usually measure out the quantity of rice I need first then put it into a sieve and rinse the lot under the cold tap.

Put the rice into the pot, and cover with the cold water. Add a good pinch of salt, then bring to the boil. Once the water is boiling, give a little stir with the spoon, then turn the heat to simmer and cover with the lid (I leave a little gap as the rice can tend to boil over if there is no steam escaping!!). Do not be tempted to stir the rice again as over-stirring can make it a bit stodgy!

Simmer for around 10 mins or until the rice has absorbed all the water, keep an eye on the pot so the rice doesn’t burn! Turn off the heat, give the rice a little fluff with a fork, cover with the lid again and let the rice steam for a bit in the pot. The rice keeps nice and warm like this for quite a while, handy for second helpings.

Easy!

This method seems to work for me and I have had perfect rice ever since.

Comments»

1. Auntie Jooby - 2007/01/23

sounds good, I think I’ll give that a try tonight!!


Leave a Reply

