jump to navigation

Buying Disposable Nappies 2007/06/17

Posted by Daddy Dave in Baby, hacks, Reviews, Tips and Tricks.
trackback

I hate shopping for disposable nappies; I almost always get it wrong — and now the problem has got worse because I’m shopping for two kids and two sizes. I have searched the web for help on this, but nowhere can I find a definitive list of sizes to compare and contrast, so I took a post-it note along to the supermarket, and here are my findings:

Size Number

Diaper Description

For babies who weigh between

2

Pampers Mini

3 kg – 6 kg

2

Huggies Newborn

3 kg – 6 kg

3

Pampers Midi

4 kg – 9 kg

3

Huggies

5 kg – 9 kg

4

Pampers Maxi

7 kg – 18 kg

4

Pampers Active Fit

7 kg – 18 kg

4

Pampers Easy Up

7 kg – 18 kg

4

Huggies

8 kg – 14 kg

4+

Pampers Maxi Plus

9 kg – 20 kg

4+

Pampers Active Fit

9 kg – 20 kg

4+

Huggies

10 kg – 16 kg

5

Pampers Junior

11 kg – 25 kg

5

Huggies

11 kg – 19 kg

5+

Pampers Junior Plus

13 kg – 27 kg

6

Pampers Extra Large

16 kg +

6

Pampers Easy Up

16 kg +

6

Huggies

16 kg +

My scribbled survey was in ASDA, and their own supermarket brand, ‘George’, matched the ‘Pampers’ range.

Although it may seem that all you have to do is weigh your kid and then choose your disposable nappy, it is not quite that simple; the supermarkets lay out the nappies in a very confusing way. They do not order them by size, but by brand, type (Easy-up, Active Fit), and then pack size, so it can take a while.

Pack size is an issue straight away; how many nappies should you get? If your kid’s weight is nearing the borderline on the upper limit, should you really buy a box of 25? But you don’t want to run out and be caught short!

Then take the case where your child is 7 kg. Which nappy should you get? You could buy size 3 Pampers Mini (4 kg – 9 kg), size 3 Huggies (5 kg – 9 kg) , size 4 Pampers Maxi (7 kg – 18 kg), size 4 Pampers Active Fit (7 kg – 18 kg), size 4 Pampers Easy Up (7 kg – 18 kg), and the four ‘George’ nappies that are equivalent to Pampers. That’s NINE options!

What seems to happen to me most of the time is that I have to search each confusing display row very slowly (patience is the key), until I discover that the specific one I have on my list is not there. Then I have to start again — to find that size in another brand or decide to go with a different type. Or else I find that I have too much choice.

It usually ends in my having to drive back later to get a refund, and driving around supermarkets until I get the right ones!

Note:–

Olivia is 13 kg and David is 5 kg

Links:

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

